N.A.P. [New Afro Powers]

31 03 2008

this spring break i spent a few days in LA spending much needed time with my cousins. I began to notice things that i hadn’t noticed before, mainly how fun just relaxing could be and how i was one of the only family with straight hair.

that got me thinking, “why cant i go back to natural?” or “napptural” as i’ve seen written on various blogs. that word nappy kind of upsets me. people say “eiw your hair is nappy” and its supposed to be something mean. the hair is unkept, the hair is oddly shaped, the hair is ugly.

with that in mind, i just want to make it plain: IM GOING BACK TO NATURAL. but i’m not going “nappy”. besides, if nappy is natural, then that’s fine with me.

another reason i’ve been seriously contemplating going back to my natural hair is because of college: i’m not going to have 60$ a month to just put into my hair. most likely i’ll be scraping for pennies on the side walk. so having a natural style that requires only washing and conditioning makes more since, economically.

and honestly, its time for a change. i mean, i rocked this short hair thing for a while now: i’ve never been one to stay the same for very long. besides, keeping my hair natural makes it grow faster. so, who knows, by the time i graduate from college, i could have hair down to my toes. :]

these are some phenominal afros.

laryn hill afro

woman with afro

afro couple

celebrating afro couple

anyways, i’d appreciate some thoughts on this. oppinions, facts, praise, critizes. let’s hear it.

rena

Actions

Information

6 responses

31 03 2008
Danni

hahahahah.
i love you rena.
and natural is amazingg.
even though i’m not that natural myself.
=)

1 04 2008
Roxi

Rena!

I’m so happy for you! Girl you are a Todd! Your texture represents all of us girl let it shine and be happy!

Stop living that LYE go and be free! Happy Nappturalness!

Love ya

1 04 2008
RHIANNON

just like in 4th grade 🙂

3 04 2008
aulelia

These afros are gorgeous.

Especially the 2nd one. That hair is stunning.
The 4th one is from Black Hair magazine, a hair mag in England that I interned at!

30 04 2008
Aleesha Nicole

Great idea!
I recently let my hair just do its own thing. One of the best decisions.
My inspiration came from Biracial Hair by Zora Howard.
I performed it at my school’s MLK assembly and it just stuck.

:] & btw, Napptural is dubbed the word of the month now.

Nice blog!

11 03 2009
Reign

We must redo our thinking when it comes to the word nappy, just as we did with black (as in people). Nappy started with a bad rep because we didn’t have the knowledge on how to care for our hair. Today, because of websites such as http://www.Nappturality.com, http://www.Fotki.com, http://www.CurlyNikki.com, http://www.YouTube.com and the lists goes on, we have self educated ourselves and one another on what products to use, what not to use, what’s good and what’s bad, for our Napptural Hair. But beware, what may work for one may not be good for the other simply because of the different textures, and environments (yes according to where we live, some natural products such as Vegetable Glycerine) reacts different in certain climates. I’ve been napptural (no heat, no dyes, no lyes) for almost a year now, and I’ve never felt so liberated in my life 🙂 I say it Loud, I’m Nappy and I’m Proud. Welcome to the Journey .^_^.

Leave a Reply

